Regularly Meets On: 

Five Thursday's a Semester 3pm - 4:30pm

Standard Location: 

Please check our meeting calendar for the next meeting
*Please check meeting list to confirm times and locations

About Committee

The purpose and function of the Shared Governance Council (SGC) of the Associated Students, Inc. (ASI) of California State University, Los Angeles.

  • A. Review, research and make recommendations on, but not limited to, Academic and Administrative policy affecting students.
  • B. Maintain active communication to the student body regarding but not limited to Academic and Administrative Affairs by creating resolutions, white papers, utilizing media outlets etc.
  • C. Work with all appropriate areas in order to ensure that genuine Shared Governance is being upheld between students, faculty, and administration. These areas include but are not limited to: ASI College Representatives, Department Chairs, Students, etc.
  • D. Create annual assessments for the student success fee and any student fee the council deems appropriate to ensure effective and ethical use of student fees.
  • E. Create assessments ascertaining the quality of service offered to students that the council finds appropriate.

What is the composition of the SGC?

Shared Governance Council membership:

  • A. Vice President for Academic Governance (VPAG) (chair, non-voting)
  • B. ASI Academic Senators (3 Undergraduates, 2 Post -Baccalaureates) (one of which shall be appointed vice-chair at the first or second meeting of the SGC)
  • C. Student Representatives appointed by the BOD to all University and Academic Senate Committees and Subcommittees
  • D. All official ASI Board members that are required to sit on a University or Academic Senate Committee or Subcommittee
  • E. Faculty Appointee (one faculty member selected by the Committee on Committees of the Academic Senate, non-voting committee advisor)
  • F. The Provost or the Provost's designee (non-voting committee advisor)
Last modified on June 6, 2023

Recent Meetings

Recent Reports

Academic Period Title
Spring 2018 Raul Rubio


  • Carlos Herrera
    Academic Senator At-Large (Undergraduate or Graduate)
  • Yahir Flores
    ASI President
  • Cindy Nguyen
    Chief of Staff
  • Vacant Position Icon
  • Vacant Position Icon
    College of Arts and Letters Representative
  • Jared Blanco
    College of Business and Economics Representative
  • Vacant Position Icon
  • Nitesh Thorat
    College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Technology Representative
  • Yadira Tellechea
    College of Ethnic Studies Representative
  • Vacant Position Icon
  • Vacant Position Icon
    Diversity and Inclusion Officer
  • Barnaby Peake
    Executive Director
  • Vacant Position Icon
  • Vacant Position Icon
  • Caitlin Jane M Calica
    Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services Representative
  • Nida Sheikh
    Undergraduate Academic Senator
  • Rikka
    Undergraduate Academic Senator
  • Mindy Larios
    Undergraduate Academic Senator
  • Andrew Klein
    Vice President for Finance